top of page
Alcohol Ink Art

The Chakra System


  • The word chakra is Sanskrit for wheel or disk and refers to the energetic or psycho-physiological centres in the body. These centres correspond to nerve ganglia branching out from the spinal column as well as states of consciousness, developmental stages of life, archetypal elements, sensory and body functions, colours, sounds, and more. Together they form a profound lens for looking at humans and for transformation. Chakra Yoga thus explores the basic concepts of Hatha Yoga and combines them with the seven centres. Asanas, pranayama techniques, mantras, mudras (hand gestures), sense perceptions, bodily actions, physiology, psychology, and specific yoga styles or branches are some of the pertinent topics associated with each chakra. This information is examined within the context of the chakra system to balance and better understand ourselves.


  • I specialize in creating tailored yoga classes for individuals and small groups based on student's needs. Let me know what you want in advance and I will create the class, teach it to you, send you home with a printout, and be available for any questions or clarifications.

Educational Tools:

Enjoy a detailed and informative overview of the characteristics of the ancient chakra system. Written and compiled by Barbara Dametto.

Chakra Meditator
bottom of page